Irwin Scholars Exhibit 2015

Start Time: 
Wednesday, May 27, 2015 - 5:00pm
End Time: 
Monday, June 1, 2015 - 5:00pm
Sesnon Gallery

Origins & Perceptions

May 27 - June 13, 2015

May 27 reception 5:00-7:00 pm


Our exhibition is an invitation for dialogue.

We recall our origins.  

We invite the audience to ritual spaces.  

We question the notions of luxury and wealth.

We reveal what authorities hide and what powers instill fear.

We confront the binaries limiting our experiences.  

We interrogate the logistics of urbanization.

We create awareness and dialogue alongside ecology.

We notice the improprieties of societal labor.  


Sesnon Gallery’s annual Irwin Scholarship Award exhibition showcases some of UCSC’s most promising young artists working in painting, photography, printmaking, sculpture, installation. social practice and digital media. The William Hyde and Susan Benteen Irwin Scholarship Fund was established in 1986, generating annual merit scholarships to further the education of selected UC Santa Cruz art students.

2015 Recipients: 

Seth Andrews

Austin Carlson

Nesho Dimov

Rachel Finn

Melanya Hamasyan

Haley Jensen

Alex Khah

Cedar Kirwin

Edward Ramirez

Maria Montes Tapia

Anthony Torrano

Grant Wells